'Reactions: Visual Words' Catapult Print Exhibition

Saturday, February 22, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Catapult Creative House

“Reactions: Visual Words,” an exhibition of prints by Tammy Harrington, will be on display Feb. 7-March 26 at Southeast Missouri State University’s Catapult Creative House.

The prints are from a collaboration between Harrington and 10 of her colleagues from the University of the Ozarks. Each participant was asked to react to “Enigma,” a work by Harrington, in poetry or prose of 50 words or less. She then took the responses and transformed them into the prints in this exhibition, using hand-set metal type and a Vandercook press. Her focus was to have the written word lead the creation of the artwork.

“Reactions: Visual Words” opens on Friday, Feb. 7, from 5-9 p.m. A closing reception will take place on Friday, March 6. In addition to the exhibition, Harrington will give an artist’s talk on Thursday, March 5, at 7 p.m. in the classroom at Catapult Creative House. The exhibition and artist’s talk are free and open to the public.

Visitors are welcome to tour the entire Catapult facilities including the Southeast Missouri State University Department of Art and Design students’ studios upstairs, which will feature photographs by John Stringer on Friday, Feb. 7, and sculptures and two-dimensional work by Christian Ondr on Friday, March 6.

On that same evening, the Catapult Press Editions Program will unveil a new limited-edition visiting artist print by Sarah Ellis, adjunct professor of art and design at Murray State University. As a part of this program, select visiting artists at Catapult Press create limited edition fine art prints with the help of Southeast students. Half of the print edition is available for sale at Catapult Press with all proceeds supporting Catapult’s programming.

Ellis instructs a wide range of courses, including Lithography, Silkscreen, Introduction to Printmaking, Introduction to Sculpture, and Foundation Drawing. In addition to teaching, she also serves as the secretary on the Executive Board of Southern Graphics Council International. She actively participates in national and international exhibitions, publications, curatorial work, and academic conference presentations.

In addition, Catapult visitors are also invited to browse the merchandise in the Shoppe, which features student work and local business products.

Dates & Times

Saturday, February 22, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday, February 24, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday, February 25, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday, February 26, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday, February 27, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday, February 28, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday, February 29, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday, March 2, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday, March 3, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday, March 4, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday, March 5, 2020, 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday, March 6, 2020, 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday, March 7, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday, March 9, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday, March 10, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday, March 11, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday, March 12, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday, March 13, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday, March 14, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday, March 16, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday, March 17, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday, March 18, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday, March 19, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday, March 20, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday, March 21, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday, March 23, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday, March 24, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday, March 25, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday, March 26, 2020, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Map

Catapult Creative House
612 Broadway St, Cape Girardeau, MO 63701